Scholarship Information


The CMLC Scholarship fund’s purpose is to provide financial assistance to a student in an American Library Association-accredited library and information science Master’s Degree program. The $500 Scholarship may be used for any purpose related to the recipient’s degree program expenses. In the spirit of former University of Southern Mississippi library science professor Dr. Laura Long’s generosity to students, recipients are encouraged to use the scholarship to enhance their education by attending lectures, exhibits, or conferences.


The applicant must currently be enrolled in an ALA-accredited Master’s Degree program and have completed six (6) hours. The applicant must currently be an employee of a Mississippi library and must not have previously been awarded this scholarship from CMLC. Preference will be given to employees of CMLC member libraries. The successful recipient will have demonstrated a genuine commitment to the profession by participating in activities that further library skills or enhance knowledge among library professionals within the state. Thus, the scholarship may be used for any purpose that is reasonably connected to the field of library science. Applications must be submitted by June 1st to be considered. The scholarship is awarded before the fall term begins.


Return completed form and unofficial MLIS transcript  by June 1st to
Judy Reedy – CMLC Scholarship Committee Chairperson – Mississippi State Law Library – 450 High Street | Jackson, MS 39201.

Or email it to

Previous Winners:

2018 Kelly Thompson, Harrison County Library System

2017 Hannah Berryhill, Kemper-Newton Regional Library System

2016 Brittany Tibbett, Library of Hattiesburg, Petal, and Forrest County

2015 Emilie Aplin, Cook Library at The University of Southern Mississippi

2013 Jillian Rogers, Greenwood-Leflore Public Library System

2012 Jaclyn Lewis, Youth Services Coordinator, Madison County Library System

2011 Jeffrey Stephen Sootheran, Mississippi College Leland Speed Library

2010 Sarah Welch, Hinds Community College

2008 Mara Villa

2007 Tamara Nelson

2006 Lorianne Hawkins

2005  Jennifer Wann


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s